Where to find us


Zumaia, Deba and Mutriku, the three municipalities that comprise the Geopark territory are located on the central coast of the Basque Country, in the westernmost area of Gipuzkoan coastline. The geopark boundaries are the municipality of Getaria to the east; Aizarnazabal, Zestoa, Azpeitia, Azkoitia and Mendaro to the south (all municipalities located in Gipuzkoa); and the municipality of Ondarroa, in the province of Bizkaia, to the west.

The area has excellent transport links and is close to the three Basque capitals. San Sebastián, for example, is only 30 minutes by car and Bilbao, 50 minutes (driving time calculated from Zumaia, the most populated town in the geopark). 


By plane: There are six international airports located less than an hour from the Geopark: Bilbao (BIO), Vitoria-Gasteiz (VIT), San Sebastian (EAS), Pamplona (PNA), Biarritz (BIQ) and Santander (SDR).

By train: The Euskotren railway links Bilbao and San Sebastián, and has two stations within the geopark territory (Zumaia and Deba): Euskotren

By bus:  From Donostia-San Sebastián, Zarautz, Eibar..and various regional routes: Euskotren and Lurraldebus.

By car:

  • The A-8 (E-70) Bilbao-Behobia (French border) motorway, which becomes the ‘Autovía del Cantábrico’ continuing westward to Cantabria and Asturias, and crosses the entire geopark territory.
  • The AP-1 Eibar-Vitoria motorway, which links the A-8 and the N-1 through the geopark territory.

  • The N-634 San Sebastián-Bilbao road passes through the territory



DEBA (see in detail)

Payment areas:

    > Old train station: Every day from Monday to Friday: 09.00-12.30 // 15.00-20.00 - Summer: usual hours and Saturdays and holidays: 09.00-20.00

    > Plaza Nafarroa (beach), Calbeton mall and Markiegi, Marinel, Bastinuixa and Montreal streets: weekend 09.00-20.00 // Summer (01/06-15/09)Nafarroa enparantza (hondatza), Calbeton zumardia, Markiegi, Marinel, Bastinuixa eta Montreal kaleak. TAO - maiatzan asteburuetan 09:00-20.00 / Udan (01/06 – 15/09) egunero 09.00-20.00

Free areas:

    > All year round: from Arrantzale street to the port 

    > Only in winter: Plaza Nafarroa, (beach), Calbetón mall and Markiegi, Marinel, Bastinuixa and Montreal streets. 

MUTRIKU (information)

ZUMAIA information and map